Classification of Sherry Wine

There are two different types of Shirley. The classification methods are “blooming” or “not blooming” in the brewing process.

The so-called flowering refers to the white film floating on the surface of some wines during the brewing process. The white film is called “blossom”. This is Fino Shirley. It’s not very sweet, but it’s light and delicious. It’s a good aperitif.

In addition, “not flowering” is the one without albuginea, called Oloroso, which tastes rich and sweet. It is light, sweet and full-bodied with a high alcohol concentration (17%-22% in general). Usually as after-dinner wine.

If subdivided, there are many kinds of Shirley, which are dry, sweet and mixed.

Dry Sherry: 1. Fino – Dry. Palomino grape varieties are used to produce pale wheat yellow with a light spicy taste. Alcohol is about 15.5 degrees.

2. Manzanilla (Manzanilla) – Dry type. Fino type dessert wine from Sanlucar on the seashore is more compact and delicate because of the relationship between salt and moisture.

3. Amontillado (Amontillado) – dry type. Fino’s further matured wine is amber in colour with an almond-like aroma. Alcohol is about 17 degrees.

4. Oloros (Oroso) – Dry type. With mellow and rich unique fragrance, there are two kinds of sweet and slightly sweet, alcohol degree is about 18-20. Thick and sweet Sherry Ream is made from this wine.

5. Palo Cortado.

Sweet Sherry: Pedro Ximenez, Moscatel;

Mixed Shirley: Pale Cream, Medium, Cream.

Share this post